Comparison

Elvie Trainer vs Perifit Care+: Biofeedback Sensors, App Gamification & Battery Comparison

On this page
  1. Quick verdict
  2. Specifications side by side
  3. Biofeedback sensors and technique
  4. App design and gamification
  5. Battery and charging
  6. Fit, materials and care
  7. Verdict by use case
  8. Where they rank
  9. Read the full reviews
  10. Frequently asked questions

The Elvie Trainer and the Perifit Care+ are the two app-connected pelvic floor trainers in our catalogue. Both are insertable silicone devices with sensors that send readings over Bluetooth to a free app, which turns each contraction into real-time on-screen feedback, and neither has a stimulation motor. They differ in how they check your technique, how their apps keep you training and, above all, in how they are powered. This comparison is based on manufacturer specifications, published product documentation and retailer listings where a brand publishes nothing; we have not run clinical or laboratory tests.

Disclosure: we may earn a commission through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Our verdicts are editorial and never paid for. How we make money.

Quick verdict

Choose the Elvie Trainer if…

  • you want a focused routine: six short exercises around a single on-screen gem, in what Elvie calls 5-minute workouts;
  • you like a self-contained kit: the carry case protects the device and doubles as its charger;
  • you want a choice of fit, with an optional sizing cover in the box.

Choose the Perifit Care+ if…

  • games keep you motivated: Perifit lists more than 20, with a personalized program;
  • you want a second signal on your technique: a separate abdominal pressure sensor flags faulty contractions, and motion detection allows training in several positions;
  • you never want to think about charging: Perifit says the battery never needs recharging and covers it for five years.

The Elvie Trainer (4.7/5) ranks first in our pelvic floor trainer ranking, just ahead of the Perifit Care+ (4.6/5), for its fully silicone-covered pod, tilt detection, documented app compatibility and a carry case that doubles as the charger. The Care+ is the better choice if you want a broader, more game-like app, dual-sensor feedback with motion detection and no charging at all. Neither brand publishes sensor accuracy data, so we compare documented features, not measurement precision.

Specifications side by side

Values from the manufacturers’ product pages (elvie.com, perifit.co) and Perifit’s official Amazon store; where Elvie publishes nothing, from retailer listings. Neither device has a motor, so there is no noise figure to compare. We do not list prices, which change often and vary by country.

CriteriaElvieElvie Trainer4.7/5Check PricePerifitPerifit Care+4.6/5Check Price
Pros
  • Real-time on-screen feedback on each contraction
  • Tilt detection flags pushing down instead of lifting
  • Six guided, gamified exercises with progress tracking
  • Fully silicone-covered body, case doubles as charger
  • Dual-sensor feedback flags faulty contractions
  • Motion detection for training in several positions
  • More than 20 app games with progress tracking
  • No recharging; battery covered for 5 years
Cons
  • Every session requires the app and a phone or tablet
  • No run time, IP rating or accuracy data from Elvie
  • Charges with Micro USB rather than USB-C
  • Every session requires the app and a phone
  • No IP rating or battery life figure from Perifit
  • No sensor accuracy data; travel pouch sold separately
FormatCompact pebble-shaped pod with a flexible tailFlexible probe that bends during insertion, 6.3 × 2.7 cm insertable part, with an external tail
SensorsSensors Elvie describes as patented, measuring contractions in real timeDual-sensor system Perifit describes as patented: contraction sensor plus abdominal pressure sensor
Technique checkTilt detection flags pushing down instead of liftingAbdominal pressure reading flags faulty contractions
Motion detectionNot listedYes: detects position and movement for training in several positions
App exercisesSix exercises (Lift, Hold, Pulse, Speed, Step, Strength) presented as short gamesMore than 20 games, a personalized program and advanced exercises in several positions
App compatibilityiOS 14, iPadOS 14 or Android 9 and newer, Bluetooth Low EnergyApp Store and Google Play (versions not stated), Bluetooth Low Energy
Battery & chargingRechargeable; carry case doubles as the charger, powered by Micro USB; no run time statedBuilt-in battery designed to last for years; no recharging; 5-year battery warranty
Fit optionsOptional sizing cover includedRemovable collar included
Water resistanceWaterproof according to retailers; no IP rating“100% waterproof design” according to Perifit; no IP rating
MaterialsFully covered in silicone, no exposed partsSilicone
NoiseNo motorNo motor
PricePremium connected trainer; prices vary by retailer and countryPremium connected trainer; prices vary by retailer and country

Biofeedback sensors and technique

Elvie Trainer: real-time sensors and tilt detection

According to Elvie, patented sensors measure your contractions in real time, and a moving gem in the app shows each squeeze and release. Elvie’s second safeguard is tilt technology, which Elvie says detects whether you are pushing down instead of lifting up. Pushing down instead of lifting is one of the most common errors when people train without guidance.

Perifit Care+: two sensors plus motion detection

Perifit splits the job between two sensors. A superficial sensor reads the pelvic floor contraction itself, while a deep sensor detects changes in abdominal pressure, which Perifit uses to flag faulty contractions such as bearing down with the abdominal muscles. The Care+ adds a motion sensor that detects position and movement, so that exercises can be done in several positions rather than only lying down.

Both approaches target the same problem from different angles: Elvie relies on the device’s tilt, Perifit compares the contraction with a separate pressure reading. Neither brand publishes accuracy or resolution figures, so we do not rank one sensor system above the other on precision.

App design and gamification

Both apps are free and both turn training into games, but with different philosophies. Elvie keeps it focused: six exercises named Lift, Hold, Pulse, Speed, Step and Strength, each a short game around the same on-screen gem, with levels and progress tracking. Elvie describes its sessions as 5-minute workouts.

Perifit offers a broader library: more than 20 games in which your contractions steer a character or object, a personalized program and a progress dashboard. Its Amazon store listing adds an analysis of strength, endurance, precision, contraction quality and speed, and seven programs that target specific weaknesses. The Care+ also unlocks advanced and fitness-style exercises in different positions. Perifit’s sessions are also short, around five minutes.

The choice is mostly a matter of temperament: a short, uncluttered routine with the Elvie, or more variety and game mechanics with the Perifit. Both need a phone or tablet at every session, and both handle personal training data, so review each app’s privacy settings and permissions.

Battery and charging

This is the clearest difference. The Elvie Trainer has a rechargeable battery and charges inside its carry case, which doubles as the charger and is powered with the supplied Micro USB cable. Elvie does not state a run time; retailer listings say one hour of charging covers about a month of the recommended use. You will need to charge it occasionally, but the case also gives the device a protective place to store and carry it.

The Perifit Care+ has no charging port at all. Perifit says its battery is designed to last for years of regular use, thanks to the low consumption of Bluetooth Low Energy, and that you will never need to recharge it. The battery is covered by a five-year warranty, with replacement if it fails. That warranty is not a stated battery life: Perifit gives no figure in hours or sessions. Perifit sells a travel pouch separately.

Fit, materials and care

Each brand addresses fit differently: Elvie includes an optional sizing cover that slips over the pod, while Perifit makes the Care+ flexible so that it bends during insertion, and includes a removable collar for a secure position. Perifit gives the Care+ insertable dimensions of 6.3 by 2.7 cm; Elvie does not publish the Trainer’s dimensions.

Both are silicone devices. Elvie states that the Trainer is completely covered in silicone with no exposed parts; Perifit states that its devices are tested for biocompatibility. Both are described as waterproof without an IP rating, so both can be washed and rinsed:

  • Before and after each session: wash the device and its tail with warm water and a mild, fragrance-free soap, then rinse thoroughly.
  • Cover or collar: remove the Elvie sizing cover or the Perifit collar and wash it separately.
  • Drying: let the device dry completely, which matters most for the Elvie, since its case is also the charger.
  • Personal use: both are designed for one person and should not be shared.

For step-by-step routines, see our device cleaning and material care guide.

Verdict by use case

  • A short, focused routine: the Elvie Trainer, with six exercises and 5-minute workouts.
  • Motivation through games: the Perifit Care+, with more than 20 games and a personalized program.
  • Training in different positions: the Perifit Care+, whose motion detection supports exercises beyond lying down.
  • No charging at all: the Perifit Care+, with a battery Perifit covers for five years.
  • A protective case that also charges: the Elvie Trainer.

Where they rank

In our pelvic floor trainer ranking, the Elvie Trainer is first (4.7/5) and the Perifit Care+ second (4.6/5). Because neither has a stimulation motor, these scores are not comparable with those of the stimulation devices we review. Either way, a trainer is a training aid, not a treatment: anyone with pain, a pelvic health condition or a recent childbirth should first speak to a healthcare professional.

Read the full reviews

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, the Elvie Trainer or the Perifit Care+?

It depends on how you like to train. The Elvie Trainer ranks slightly higher in our guide for its focused six-exercise routine, tilt detection and a carry case that doubles as the charger. The Perifit Care+ suits people who stay motivated by games, want motion detection for training in several positions and prefer a device that never needs charging.

Do I need to charge the Elvie Trainer or the Perifit Care+?

The Elvie Trainer, yes: it charges in its carry case, powered by a Micro USB cable. The Perifit Care+, no: Perifit says its battery is designed to last for years and never needs recharging, with a five-year battery warranty.

Do both trainers need a smartphone?

Yes. Both show their readings only in a free app, so every session needs a compatible phone or tablet with Bluetooth. Elvie lists iOS 14, iPadOS 14 or Android 9 and newer; Perifit lists the App Store and Google Play without version numbers.

This comparison provides general information and is not medical advice. Always follow the manufacturer’s instructions for use, cleaning and charging.